Store your resources in your very own folder.

Sign in or sign up today!

Find out more

Julia Donaldson becomes seventh Children’s Laureate

Add to My Folder
This item has 5 stars of a maximum 5

Rated 5/5 from 1 rating (Write a review)

Julia Donaldson has become the new Waterstone’s Children’s Laureate. She took over the role from the outgoing Laureate, Anthony Browne, at a ceremony in central London today.

Julia Donaldson

As Children’s Laureate, Julia will promote issues related to children’s fiction that are important to her, including signed stories for deaf children and the ongoing campaign for public libraries.

The post of Children’s Laureate was established in 1999 to celebrate exceptional children’s authors and illustrators and to acknowledge their importance in creating the readers of tomorrow. Previous Children’s Laureates include Quentin Blake (1999-2001), Anne Fine (2001-2003), Michael Morpurgo (2003-2005), Jacqueline Wilson (2005-2007), Michael Rosen (2007-2009) and Anthony Browne (2009-2011). Julia Donaldson will remain Laureate until 2013.

Stick Man

Julia Donaldson’s picture books, illustrated by Axel Scheffler, are well-loved – they include The Gruffalo (Macmillan), Tiddler (Scholastic) and Stick Man (Scholastic). Her next book, The Highway Rat, will be published by Scholastic in September 2011.

You can read more about Julia Donaldson and the previous Children’s Laureates at the official website.

Have you used Julia Donaldson’s books in your setting or classroom? Share your ideas and experiences on our forum.



Advertise here